Reviews

9.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.2
Property location
8.1
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.3
Value
8.7

Reviews

    Colin
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    18 May 2018

    Loved coming back to relaxing place after a big day of touring around Kyoto.

    Not complaining but possibly a notice for the people who reside upstairs that walking around late at night can be be heard clearly by those downstairs.
    We liked the easy pickup from the station and the introduction to the facilities. Coto has everything (except an iron) that you need. The absolute bonus for us was the washing machine as we had a couple of weeks of travel behind us. To come back from our day of visiting the sights - jr bus nearly out the front - to air conditioning was great. Great little bakery next door for breakfast goodies.. Wonderful shower, plenty of room - we enjoyed our stay at Coto.
    Lim
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    30 April 2018

    Everyday Kyoto on your doorstep...meet the locals

    We were worried we (the kids) would make too much noise as we were warned that previous guests had received complaints from the neighbours. We spent quite a lot of time trying to figure out which buses to take from which bus stops, so a printed guide would have saved us confusion and a few wrong bus trips. We found that Google maps accuracy isn't 100 percent. The flat is really convenient for many things.
    It was lovely to sleep in a family room with tatami beds. The living/dining/kitchen area is cool, great furniture, but small for 2 adults and 2 kids. But the beautiful, open tatami area made up for it once the beds were put away. The washing machine with soap was handy. The bakery a couple of doors down is excellent. The bus stops are nearby as is the local combini. A very well kept and funky space. Umbrellas are for use, as are the house slippers. It was great to watch the locals get on with everyday life. Kids walking to school. Mums and older folks running errands on bikes. A safe neighbourhood. With all the sights a 20 minutes or less bus ride away.
    Guillaume
    fr

    Review score

    8.3
    21 November 2017
    Very noisy (street noises)
    Japanese style bedroom
    fr

    Review score

    9.2
    21 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    16 November 2017

    Highly recommended

    Slightly small but I think that is to be expected in a Japanese city. Still bigger than a lot of hotel rooms.
    This was the perfect place to sat while in Kyoto with our 1 year old daughter. Super clean and new. Loved having Japanese style beds and toilet. Washing machine and kitchenette was a good bonus, especially with a toddler. Walking distance to good attractions, or easy to jump on a bus. Nice to have Coto Cafe as a friendly base.
    nl

    Review score

    6.7
    14 September 2017
    - Located on a busy road with quite a lot of noise during the night - Small curtain that doesn't keep the light out - 10-15 minutes walk for the nearest subway/train station - Layout of the apartment is pretty inconvenient. Feels a lot smaller than expected (even for Japanese standards)
    - New and clean apartment - Sleeping on a Japanese futon is nice for a change - Easy check-in with transport to apartment
    Austin Shields
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    24 June 2017
    It's way more easy than I thought to check in at COTO Cafe near Kyoto Station. We had free food and free drinks and free ride to the accommodation. Checking out was also very straightforward.
    Amanda
    ru

    Review score

    9.6
    23 June 2017

    Good location

    The room is perfect and big. Everything seems new. We had a great stay in kyoto.
    Amy
    ru

    Review score

    9.6
    23 June 2017

    nice place to stay

    A comfy Japanese Tatami floor is all you need to beat the heat.
    Cara Cooper
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    20 June 2017

    lovely place

    our first experience of Japanese "Futon" was confused at first but it was fine for us eventually.
    1) Staff was very helpful 2) Free pick up (shuttle) serves was really sweet :)
    Kevin Shuster
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    17 June 2017
    It's a nice stay. The staffs are so friendly and I even got FREE drinks at COTO Cafe! This cozy apartment is definitely gonna make me come visit Japan again!
    de

    Review score

    7.5
    4 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Rebecca
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    8 January 2018

    Perfect for the traveler willing to use public transport to get out to a real neighborhood. Loved it

    It took us a little time to figure out the hot water heater for bathing, but it worked out fine.
    Staff were courteous, friendly, and very enthusiastic-fun to interact with. Apartment was cheerful and very comfortable, with a great bakery next door. We loved having a little kitchen, given the distance to central Kyoto.
    Reviewer
    us

    Review score

    10
    4 December 2017

    My stay was great!

    The property was very clean and comfortable. I liked that there were lots of basic amenities available on the premises.
    Michel A
    fr

    Review score

    8.8
    4 October 2017

    Nice stay in Kyoto

    A little bit too small for 3 people, better to come with 2
    Very clean and great to sleep on tatami and futon, with a lovely Japanese bakery just next door. Very easy to take bus. The staff took us at the station the first day